Singer-songwriter Nayfe Slusjan has taken his personal style of alt-folk to a new level, focusing through the prism of his latest band, Valleyers.

From the delicate first conception of the track ‘Kicking Cans’ to the melodic courage of ‘Parlour’, Valleyers own a dynamic energy that has instantly captured the music industry’s imagination. Tom Robinson gave Valleyers their first national radio play on BBC Radio 6 Music, featuring a live version of ‘Epilogue’ to fans via his BBC Introducing Mixtape. Other home/live recordings have received numerous plays on local radio station BBC Radio Wales, with Huw Stephens, Bethan Elfyn and Adam Walton all championing the band’s musical endeavors.

Nayfe’s gypsy intricacies provide much of the inspiration for his songs about life and the transient nature of people. Putting aside years of feral travel, separated kin and a life sheltering somewhere in the space between comfort and distress, Nayfe draws upon the coastal landscape of Wales to convert his depth of emotional charge into something positive.

Playing mainly at UK festivals, many national and international musicians form the following around Valleyers – with critically acclaimed performances at Green Man Festival, Moseley Folk Festival, Wood Festival, and Swn Festival seeing Nayfe gather friends in the shape of Mark Kozelek (Red House Painters, Sun Kil Moon), Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), Fleet Foxes, Midlake, I Break Horses and a host of other contemporary Welsh artists. One nighttime kitchen writing session at Festival No.6 saw Nayfe collaborating on melodies with Damon Gough (Badly Drawn Boy) for what was to eventually become the song ‘Parlour’.

In August 2014 Valleyers were invited to record a live XFM London session and interview with Simon Raymonde (Bella Union) sitting in for John Kennedy on his XFM X-Posure show. The three session tracks, ‘Parlour’, ‘Lacing of the water’ and ‘Valley’ were digitally released for download afterwards under the title ‘Valleyers – Parlour EP’.

Valleyers music can be found at

The band’s official website is and Nayfe regularly streams new song ideas through

Members include Nayfe Slusjan (vocals, guitar, banjo), Benjamin Mason (electric guitar),Tom Sinnett (bass) and Jack Beddis (drums) with occasional guest musicians – and the band continue to live and write in Pembrokeshire, Wales.